Contact Faculty & Staff

School of Social Work
UBCO   (ARTS Building)

Faculty of Health & Social Development
1147 Research Road
Kelowna, BC Canada V1V 1V7
Tel: 250-807-8603
Email: ask.socialwork@ubc.ca

Role:
Departments:
Search Keyword:

Shelly Ben-David | Assistant Professor | Social Work | shelly.ben-david@ubc.ca | 250-807-9434

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Research interests include early psychosis research (clinical high-risk, first-episode psychosis), suicide risk and protective factors among youth, early intervention in mental health, identity, transition-aged youth, gender and race differences, decision-making, international social work, and mixed-methods and implementation research.
Gord Bruyere | Adjunct Instructor | Social Work | gord.bruyere@ubc.ca
Shirley Chau | Associate Professor | Social Work | shirley.chau@ubc.ca | 250-807-8739

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Dr. Chau also conducts research with individuals and communities in transition that experience social marginalization and social exclusion due to race and ethnicity, racialized identities, and racism, class (e.g., homeless populations), and other factors that influence their access to services in the health and social care systems in “large”, “midsized”, and “small” cities in Canada. As well, youths at risk of becoming homeless/houseless, including youths transitioning out of care (child prote
Courses & Teaching: Dr. Chau has taught/teaches graduate-level courses: Direct Social Work Practice (Interviewing and Assessment), Theories of Direct Social Work Practice, Social Work Practice with Immigrants (2016 Summer Elective), Anti-Racist and Anti-Oppressive Practice in Clinical Social Work (2016/17 Winter Elective), and Research Methods and Evidence-Based Practice (formerly taught HINT 501: Health Interprofessional Evidence-Based Practice for students in MSN and MSW programmes). Central to her teaching approach is the anti-racist and anti-oppressive lens for clinical practice and social and organizational change, and the profession’s accountability in response to the recommendations from Canada’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC). Dr. Chau’s cl
Allan Clarke | Adjunct Instructor | Social Work | allan.clarke@ubc.ca
Sarah Dow-Fleisner | Assistant Professor | Social Work | sarah.dow-fleisner@ubc.ca

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Development trajectories and resilient functioning of children and families in high-risk contexts; Parent-child and sibling relationships in families experiencing parental mental illness and substance use; Intervention and prevention programs for families and children; Utilization of advanced statistical methodology to examine complex social phenomenon.
Courses & Teaching: SOCW553: Research Methods and Evidence in Clinical Social Work Practice
Seija Emond | Adjunct Instructor | Social Work | seija.emond@ubc.ca
Jacqui Gerow | Assistant to the Director | Social Work | jacqui.gerow@ubc.ca | 250-807-8738
Judy Gillespie | Associate Professor | Social Work | judy.gillespie@ubc.ca | 250-807-8745

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Child welfare and the role of community in child and family well-being; Mutli-sector collaboration to enhance Indigenous well-being; Interprofessional expertise for child welfare practice; The role of place in well-being; The role of attachment to place in professional retention; Place-based practice.
Courses & Teaching: The role of community in the promotion of child welfare Sustainable community development Interactions of people and place; the role of place in well-being Expertise for interprofessional child welfare practice University-community collaboration
John Graham | Professor & Director | Social Work | john.graham@ubc.ca | 250-807-8738

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: social policy, diversity and social work, spirituality and social work, multicultural social work, and employee well being/ subjective well being (happiness)
Courses & Teaching: social policy, international social work, homelessness, research.
Amanda Hancock | Graduate Program Assistant | Social Work | amanda.hancock@ubc.ca | 250-807-8603
Laura Hockman | Adjunct Instructor | Social Work | laura.hockman@ubc.ca
Rachelle Hole | Associate Professor | Gender and Women's Studies | rachelle.hole@ubc.ca | 250-807-8741

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Rachelle’s research programme is informed by two complementary streams: 1) a substantial focus on the socio-cultural practices that promote social inclusion and equity, and 2) a methodological focus on community based participatory research methods. Critical disability studies is central to the first stream informing Rachelle’s research in the area of community living and intellectual disability.
Shereen Ismael | Adjunct Professor | Social Work | shereen.ismael@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Dr. Ismael has published extensively on poverty, inequality and social policy nationally and internationally. As poverty and inequality increase within developed and developing counties her research aims to not only document the depth of poverty among vulnerable populations but to assess the effectiveness of policies in reducing poverty.
Courses & Teaching: Between 1997 and 2013, Dr. Ismael taught over 40 courses at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. She worked with students as a Field Education Coordinator and as an educator in all three pillars of our profession; practice, policy and ethics. She retired form Carleton University as a tenured Associate professor in 2013 to open a private practice working with seniors and their families. She has missed working with students and is excited to work, re-engage and grow with students.
Donna Jansons | Adjunct Instructor | Social Work | donna.jansons@ubc.ca
Andrew Kerr | Adjunct Instructor
Stephanie Laing | Field Education Coordinator | Social Work | ask.field@ubc.ca | 250-807-9437
Mary Ann Murphy | Associate Professor | Social Work, Sociology | mary-ann.murphy@ubc.ca | 250.807.8705

Graduate student supervisor


Courses & Teaching: Constitutional/Charter Litigation & Social Policy Policy and Practice Issues Affecting an Older Population Social Policy and Comparative Family Policy Social Welfare Law and Human Rights: International Human Rights & Aging Aging/Gerontological Social Work Intergenerational Relationships Visual Sociology
Raechel Pefanis | Adjunct Instructor | Social Work | raechel.pefanis@ubc.ca
Brian Rasmussen | Associate Professor | Social Work | brian.rasmussen@ubc.ca | 250-807-8743

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Research and teaching interests: Clinical social work theory and practice; contemporary psychodynamic theory; supportive psychotherapy; clinical supervision.
Hilla Shlomi | Graduate Program Coordinator | Social Work | hilla.shlomi@ubc.ca | 250-807-8774

Graduate student supervisor


Dixon Sookraj | Associate Professor | Social Work | dixon.sookraj@ubc.ca | 250-807-8703

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Participatory research to promote health and wellbeing Policies and processes of social service delivery systems in responding to the needs and aspirations of marginalized groups, including Indigenous Peoples.
Courses & Teaching: Social Work Theory and Practice, Organizational Practice, Community Practice, Child and Family Welfare Policy, Research and International Social Work.
Edward Taylor | Associate Professor | Social Work | edward.taylor@ubc.ca | 250-807-8740

Graduate student supervisor


Jamie Tomlinson | Field Education Liaison | Social Work | jamie.tomlinson@ubc.ca | 250-864-0498
Susan J. Wells | Professor Emerita | Psychology, Social Work | susan.wells@ubc.ca | 250.807.8163
Research Interests: Investigates the possible causes of overrepresentation of African American children in the United States’ out-of-home care; re-entry into out-of-home care after reunification with family; stability of out-of-home care placements; explores child welfare case types to identify characteristics that more closely represent the complexity of cases seen in the field.
Courses & Teaching: Child welfare services and policy; program evaluation; research methods.