Contact

School of Social Work
UBCO   (ARTS Building)

Faculty of Health & Social Development
1147 Research Road
Kelowna, BC Canada V1V 1V7
Tel: 250-807-8603
Email: ask.socialwork@ubc.ca

Role:
Departments:
Search Keyword:

Shelly Ben-David | Assistant Professor | Social Work | shelly.ben-david@ubc.ca | 250-807-9434

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research interests: Research interests include early psychosis research (clinical high-risk, first-episode psychosis), suicide risk and resilience factors among youth, early intervention in mental health, identity, transition-aged youth, gender and race differences, decision-making, international social work, and mixed-methods and implementation research.
Gord Bruyere | Adjunct Instructor | Social Work | gord.bruyere@ubc.ca
Shirley Chau | Associate Professor | Social Work | shirley.chau@ubc.ca | 250-807-8739

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research interests: Dr. Chau also conducts research with individuals and communities in transition that experience social marginalization and social exclusion due to race and ethnicity, racialized identities, and racism, class (e.g., homeless populations), and other factors that influence their access to services in the health and social care systems in “large”, “midsized”, and “small” cities in Canada. As well, youths at risk of becoming homeless/houseless, including youths transitioning out of care (child prote
Teaching: Dr. Chau has taught/teaches graduate-level courses: Direct Social Work Practice (Interviewing and Assessment), Theories of Direct Social Work Practice, Social Work Practice with Immigrants (2016 Summer Elective), Anti-Racist and Anti-Oppressive Practice in Clinical Social Work (2016/17 Winter Elective), and Research Methods and Evidence-Based Practice (formerly taught HINT 501: Health Interprofessional Evidence-Based Practice for students in MSN and MSW programmes). Central to her teaching approach is the anti-racist and anti-oppressive lens for clinical practice and social and organizational change, and the profession’s accountability in response to the recommendations from Canada’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC). Dr. Chau’s cl
Allan Clarke | Adjunct Instructor | Social Work | allan.clarke@ubc.ca
Sarah Dow-Fleisner | Assistant Professor | Social Work | sarah.dow-fleisner@ubc.ca

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research interests: Development trajectories and resilient functioning of children and families in high-risk contexts; Parent-child and sibling relationships in families experiencing parental mental illness and substance use; Intervention and prevention programs for families and children; Utilization of advanced statistical methodology to examine complex social phenomenon.
Jacqui Gerow | Assistant to the Director | Social Work | jacqui.gerow@ubc.ca | 250-807-8738
Judy Gillespie | Associate Professor | Social Work | judy.gillespie@ubc.ca | 250-807-8745

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Teaching: The role of community in the promotion of child welfare Sustainable community development Interactions of people and place; the role of place in well-being Expertise for interprofessional child welfare practice University-community collaboration
John Graham | Professor | Social Work | john.graham@ubc.ca | 250-807-8738

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Laura Hockman | Adjunct Instructor | Social Work | laura.hockman@ubc.ca
Rachelle Hole | Associate Professor | Social Work | rachelle.hole@ubc.ca | 250-807-8741

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research interests: Rachelle’s research programme is informed by two complementary streams: 1) a substantial focus on the socio-cultural practices that promote social inclusion and equity, and 2) a methodological focus on community based participatory research methods. Critical disability studies is central to the first stream informing Rachelle’s research in the area of community living and intellectual disability.
Donna Jansons | Adjunct Instructor | Social Work | donna.jansons@ubc.ca
Andrew Kerr | Adjunct Instructor | andrew.kerr@ubc.ca
Mary McNeill | Graduate Academic Assistant | Social Work | mbhm@mail.ubc.ca
Mary Ann Murphy | Associate Professor | Sociology | mary-ann.murphy@ubc.ca | 250.807.8705

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Teaching: Constitutional/Charter Litigation & Social Policy Policy and Practice Issues Affecting an Older Population Social Policy and Comparative Family Policy Social Welfare Law and Human Rights: International Human Rights & Aging Aging/Gerontological Social Work Intergenerational Relationships Visual Sociology
Brian Rasmussen | Associate Professor | Social Work | brian.rasmussen@ubc.ca | 250-807-8743

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research interests: Research and teaching interests: Clinical social work theory and practice; contemporary psychodynamic theory; supportive psychotherapy; clinical supervision.
Hilla Shlomi | Graduate Program Coordinator | Social Work | hilla.shlomi@ubc.ca | 250-807-8774

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Dixon Sookraj | Associate Professor | Social Work | dixon.sookraj@ubc.ca | 250-807-8703

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research interests: Participatory research to promote health and wellbeing Policies and processes of social service delivery systems in responding to the needs and aspirations of marginalized groups, including Indigenous Peoples.
Teaching: Social Work Theory and Practice, Organizational Practice, Community Practice, Child and Family Welfare Policy, Research and International Social Work.
Susan J. Wells | Psychology, Social Work | susan.wells@ubc.ca | 250.807.8163
Research interests: Investigates the possible causes of overrepresentation of African American children in the United States’ out-of-home care; re-entry into out-of-home care after reunification with family; stability of out-of-home care placements; explores child welfare case types to identify characteristics that more closely represent the complexity of cases seen in the field.
Teaching: Child welfare services and policy; program evaluation; research methods.